Sandra Mitchell Adams – Fort Richardson

My dad was stationed at Fort Richardson. We lived across from ball fields and Boy Scout and Girl Scout huts. I remember the manmade ice skating rinks. I also remember every minute of the Alaska earthquake. It was supper time. My dad had the rank for that set of quarters. A lot of the people in that bldg. came to our basement for shelter. Food came out of cabinet, fish out of fish bowl. Streets with cracks. Tops of bldg’s downtown even with streets. I don’t know which was worse, the quake, or tremors after, for so long.

One thought on “Sandra Mitchell Adams – Fort Richardson

  1. Sandra, I too lived across from the ball fields and boy/girls scout huts at the time of the earthquake. Don’t know how old you were at the time of the quake, I was 7 and my brother was about 13. We lived at 283B Dyea Ave. Would love to touch base with you. Maybe we even built snowmen together at one time! Teresa and Mitchell Pait

Leave a Reply

