Bill Woosley – Anchorage

I was 10 years old and my family lived on 8th Street in Anchorage. I remember when the quake hit I ran out the back door, circled the block, and all of the parked cars were slamming back and forth into each other. My dad was in the doorway of our house and yelling for me to come to him, I was just panicked and running down the street. I guess I thought that there was somewhere that was not shaking. The Four Seasons Apartments were just down the street, I remember that when it fell there was a huge mushroom cloud like we had seen in school films about atomic bombs. To this very day, the smallest earthquake scares me spitless. My older sister was just entering the doors at Penney’s when some high school friends drove down the road and called to her and her friend. The front of Penny’s came down right where they had been standing. They barely escaped being victims. I have a bunch of old newspapers from those days that my Dad left me. I have no idea what to do with them.

Leave a Reply

